It's Not You, It's Them

It's Not You, It's Them

By Portia MacIntosh

  • Release Date : 2016-09-30
  • Genre : Contemporary
  • FIle Size : 0.83 MB
Score: 4.0
4.0
From 25 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

It's Not You, It's Them An irresistible, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Rosie Blake, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

First comes love. Then comes family…

After a lifetime of kissing frogs, Roxie Pratt has given up on finding her own fairytale romance. That is, until she meets her very own Prince Charming, Mark Wright, and he sweeps Roxie off her feet!

So when Mark finally gets down on one knee and pops the question, there’s only one thing left to do: meet the family! And when everything has been picture-perfect so far, what could possibly go wrong…?

What readers have been saying about Portia MacIntosh:

‘Hilarious and refreshingly brilliant all the way through…this is my heart-warming humorous book of 2016!’ – The Writing Garnet

‘I just couldn't put it down!’ – Sweet Is Always In Style

'A light-hearted and fun read…highly enjoyable.' – By The Letter Book Reviews

‘A funny, light-hearted read ideal for reading on the beach.’ – Sal’s World of Books

‘A great, laugh-out loud, British contemporary romance novel…I guarantee it will put a smile on your face.’ – What’s Better Than Books

‘Truth or Date is a quirky, hilarious read packed full of fun and drama that is guaranteed to make you smile.’ – The Chick Lit Whore

Reviews

  • Hilarious and Sassy

    5
    By TwistedBarista
    This is one of my favourite books by this author. I think everyone can relate to that feeling when your in-laws aren't exactly a dream, and this book does it so well, bringing out humour, cringe-inducing embarrassing moments, and a whole lot of love too. One of my favourite authors right now.
  • Riotous, laugh out loud romantic comedy

    5
    By rachelsrandomreads
    Hilarious book about being snowed in with your future in-laws, on your first meeting with them, over the Christmas period! Roxie is amazed when her boyfriend of a year Mark, proposes one evening, but is delighted, for theirs has been a fairytale romance up until this point, plus Roxie has been able to get great mileage out of their relationship for her column at the magazine she works for. A couple of days before Christmas they decide they had better break the good news to both sets of parents. Roxie's family are delighted as you would imagine, and all that is left is the trip up to a small Yorkshire village, to tell Mark's family. Only one small, teeny tiny problem, they have never met Roxie, they aren't expecting Mark to show up with anyone, and they definitely weren't expecting an engagement announcement. And the bad weather warnings are key too! Mark's family are so over the top not overly pleasant to Roxie that as the fly on the wall reader, all I could do is laugh at them. None of them are particularly evil or anything, perhaps with the exception of one guest they have staying with them, but none are overly welcoming either. There are many laugh out loud moments in this book, some of Roxie's attempts at seduction are memorable, and some are down right disturbing. If you have ever had to spend extended time with your in-laws you may be able to relate well to what Roxie is going through. It's Not You, It's Them, is firstly a rather apt expression for the feelings of Roxie, but not only that its a fantastically entertaining story that shows people at their worst over the holidays, with a series of mishaps and misunderstandings, which will ultimately show just how human some people can be. There are many classic scenes including some drinks being spiked, a Teenage Mutant Ninja turtle outfit, a mermaid dress, a broken bed and also a great game of Truth or Dare, oh and the hunky soldiers are great too. Basically lots and lots of laughs and smiles, in this wonderfully light hearted story about potential in-laws.
  • Awesome read!

    5
    By Lyns1991
    This was a funny, relateable read for anyone who’s ever struggled to get on with their in-laws! I felt for Roxy having to contend with Mark’s crazy family over the most wonderful time of the year. The characters felt real, the dynamics were hilarious and I loved seeing them all develop over the course of the story.
  • Bad

    1
    By shs060415
    I like reading books not for the authors just as a story , hardly written any reviews on any book . This one sadly not nicely written to enjoy, the character only thinking, there is no dialogue there is no romance , only words .
  • Unlikeable

    2
    By Rubylovesdresses
    This book might be ok if it wasn’t for the super unlikeable main character. Self obsessed and flaky. Writing style and story pretty lame.

keyboard_arrow_up